Newlyweds

I honestly didn’t expect many people to read my last post, but because several did, I figured I’d continue to pop in occasionally.

I can’t believe I’m a wife, haha! It feels different and yet not at all. My husband and I discussed it many times; getting married wasn’t going to change how we felt about each other. We loved each other before getting married, we’ll love each other after. But seeing others’ reactions to our getting and being married has been quite the wake up call for us in regards to how important people feel marriage is in the grand scheme of things. They look at us now as if we’ve accomplished something… we’re adults now. Many still see it as a necessary and inevitable step in life. He and I didn’t think of it that way. We knew we wanted to spend our lives together and only decided to get married after we learned about the legal and financial benefits to marriage vs. domestic partnership. We didn’t want a wedding, we didn’t want gifts or showers, we didn’t want anyone to make a big deal out of it, and we chose matching wedding bands because I didn’t want a rock that I’d be uncomfortable wearing every day, haha! We didn’t dress up for the courthouse ceremony (we looked nice, but casual), we didn’t invite a lot of people (more came than we anticipated)… we just didn’t care for the tradition of the wedding. It’s not that we’re not happy we did it. I love him, I love my new name and my ring, and am so happy we’re married, but like I said, since we were already living together, nothing really changed for us. I changed my name, we wear rings now, and we’re husband and wife, no longer boyfriend and girlfriend… that’s really it. However, we were shocked when people we hadn’t seen in a while were so surprised that we were “that serious”. Umm, we’d been living together for over a year, did you really think we were a casual fling? Haha! People simply didn’t see our relationship, our love, as legitimate… until we signed some paperwork. I can’t be the only one who sees that as strange. However, it is what it is, and I am definitely a happy newlywed… running errands to change my name and combine all of our assets. It really does make everything SO MUCH EASIER… already, haha!

Really though, it went well. My work family threw us a shower and gave us tons of gifts we needed for our home. Our families got along and seemed genuinely happy for us, despite their disagreeing with our timing and our decision to not have a wedding (we just did it short and sweet, JP style). They gave us love, support, money, and my new parents-in-law even sent flowers to my office welcoming me to the family. I feel so lucky.

Also, my husband has an interview this week for a great job in a place that we feel we’ll be much happier. We’re both really nervous and excited! I never thought my life would be so full of action and promise, but here I am… one life-changing event under my belt, with more to come. Don’t think you’ll ever read here about pregnancies though, nope. Neither of us want kids, and we’re soooo happy we don’t. We want a full and free life, and just don’t see ourselves as parents. I’m 31 and have felt this way my entire life, I don’t think that’s going to change, haha! I just got lucky and the person I fell in love with just wanted to same kind of life. Woo hoo!

So there it is… I’m different, but not really. My name is different and I wear a wedding band now… but am I really different? No. I’m still Karyn. I still love my favorite guy. We still can’t wait to come home to each other every night. And we still can’t wait to get out of this town and start a new life in a new place.

2 thoughts on “Newlyweds

Leave a Reply

