This Monster Inside Me

This monster inside me
forces me to agree
that I’m not gusty,
that I’m just debris.

This monster inside
casts my value aside
until hatred is implied
and love is denied.

This beast
continues to feast.
I’m hoping to be released;
deceased,
at least.

This debris has something to say
about finding a way
to feel okay.
Today is the day
I disobey,
betray,
resist the decay
that made me its prey.

This monster inside me
is starting to flee,
I’m no longer its devotee.
I’m planting this tree
for all to see
the degree
to which this monster inside me
allows me to be,
unabashedly.
I’m ready to be
lovingly
set free.


In image form:

This Monster Inside Me

14 thoughts on “This Monster Inside Me

  1. Pingback: Noisy Songbird! | THOUGHTS OF A POET IN THE RAIN

Leave a Reply

